Got debt to pay off? Color it away!

We do whatever we can to pay off debt or save for the future. I don’t know about you but constantly looking at numbers just gives me a huge headache (ironic, considering the nature of my work) which is why it is sooo easy to fall off the bandwagon. I came across a website which shows the most fun way I’ve seen of tracking actuals versus goals.

Josephsangl.com has a number of downloadable .pdf files for visually tracking either paying off or saving for a major purchase in the future. For example, if you’re saving up for a home downpayment, go to the website and download the House Down Payment Saving Spectacular chart. Calculate how much you have to go on paying (or saving) up for the downpayment by dividing the total by 520 (the number of squares on the picture) and post the picture on your ref, bulletin board, or bathroom door. Track your progress by coloring in each square every time a payment/savings deposit has been made.

Easy to track, easy to tell progress, easy to update and visually interesting. It’s so simple yet effective and ranks up there in my “Why didn’t I think of that first?” chart.

I would imagine that it would also be a great motivator for that teen who’s saving up for the latest PSP or Wii. =)

=======================================
Motherhood has a very humanizing effect. Everything gets reduced to essentials. ~Meryl Streep

Subscribe to my feed or subscribe via email to get notified of my next post.

One Response

  1. Thanks so much for the link! These tools have really helped me stick with my own financial plans!

    Joseph Sangl

Leave a Reply

