Harried Woman? Me.

…we know from daily life that we exist for other people first of all for whose smiles and well-being our own happiness depends.

—Albert Einstein

 Today’s paper had an article which caught my undivided attention.  No,  it wasn’t about the proposed $700Bn bailout or the latest government scandal.  The title went something like this:  “Do you have the harried woman syndrome?  In it,  a few sentences lit my inner light bulb: “Studies have found that many of us are suffering from continued partially interrupted state, an inability to focus, reflect and process tasks and information. Sucked into the vortex of speed and haste, we have also lost the ability to enjoy the simple things in life. We killed joy.  We have become wretched, burnt-out slaves to time. “

I don’t know about you but I dread month-ends.  Month-end signifies impossible deadlines which need to met.   There are days when I feel that I’m living to work,  not working to live.  This month has been particularly wretched.  It has been increasingly difficult not to bring work home… not to wake up in the middle of the night, reaching for an invisible keyboard. Heck… it’s been hard to sleep while my brain running at full steam,  thinking of the gaps I missed in my write-ups. 

I’ve been running in this darn rat race for so long,  I’m starting to forget why I entered in the first place.   Carl Honore wrote In Praise of Slowness, advocating living a slower, more measured existence, giving more emphasis to the relationships we have with others and with ourselves.  I keep telling myself to slow down… to unplug… to savor the moment.  Instead,  I’m typing this during a stolen moment, while my family is sleeping.

Harried woman?  That’s me.

Sigh.

I really have to learn how to downshift from a life of hurry to a life of slow and easy.

=======================================
Motherhood has a very humanizing effect. Everything gets reduced to essentials. ~Meryl Streep

Subscribe to my feed or subscribe via email to get notified of my next post.

Leave a Reply

